//
you're reading...
Travel

Travel Update: Europe Trip 2012

An update on my plans for Europe this fall!

So much has changed since I posted this entry on possibly backpacking Europe this year. At first I wanted to backpack across the whole dang continent, but job commitments won’t allow me to have more than 3 weeks of vacation time. There’s no way I could do a real backpacking trip in the way I would like for any amount of time that’s less than 3 months. So I’ve opted to go on a coach/bus tour! The company I chose is Expat Explore. I figured the 12 days Europe Escape tour would be a great opportunity to get a feel of a few European countries on a budget while hanging out with adventurous strangers & getting to know the locals and their customs. I’ll get to see France (Paris), Switzerland (Jungfrau/Wilderswil region, Swiss Alps, Jungfraujoch mountain), Italy (Pisa, Florence, Rome, Venice & the Vatican City), Germany (Munich, St. Goar, Boppard & Rhine river cruise), The Netherlands (Amsterdam, Volendam & Zaanse Schans in North Holland), Belgium (Bruges) and driving through Austria (with a chance to see the gorgeous Italian Dolomites & Austrian Alps). As soon as I read tons of reviews online and realized that this was a great opportunity for the price, I paid the 10% deposit around January. Fast forward a few months, I just paid off the balance last week. It’s official. I’M GOING TO EUROPE!

BUT WAIT!

Expat Explore is based in London. From what I read, most foreigners who tour with them usually spend only 1 night in London before starting a tour. I’ve never been to the UK. There is just no way I’d fly all the way to Europe in 2012 without properly visiting London – the huge, multicultural, English capital city that’s had its biggest summer ever, thanks to the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee celebrations, as well as the Olympic & Paralympic Games! I decided to tack on another 6 days to my trip. Yes, SIX full, glorious days in jolly ole London before the start of my Europe tour. Wow! I will be in the land of union jack flags, tea & crumpets, etc. Woot! Considering that London is a pretty expensive city, I might have to explore it ‘backpacker style’. HA. At this point, I’m still working out a personal itinerary of all the things I want to do that can actually be done on a tight budget. Challenge accepted!

My London/Europe vacation begins in exactly 26 days and I am PUMPED.

~BahSun

About BahSun

Bahamas born. Addicted to travel. In love with sunflowers. Blogging through my discovery of self & the world around me.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Travel Update: Europe Trip 2012

  1. I’m looking into doing this exact tour next summer. Would you mind reviewing it for me?!

    Posted by Ashley | August 14, 2013, 3:57 pm
    • Sure thing! I will type out a full review but let me say now DO IT! The tour was set up well, covered a lot of sites. We had so much fun and a year later, I’m still friends w/ and still in contact with most of the people in our group. It’s great for a budget tour. You won’t regret it!

      Posted by BahSun | October 11, 2013, 11:23 am

Leave a Reply

Categories

Say it loud: I tweet & I’m Proud!

  • @LeslieKHoward I'd love to read it later when I have some downtime. Send it to me on the weekend! :) 17 hours ago
  • Now I can't feel half my face but getting ready to work this late shift. Wooo, I need sleep. 18 hours ago
  • I got another wisdom tooth removed today...making a total of 3 extracted in 2 yrs. The struggle was incredibly real. 19 hours ago
  • Today is a really good day for multiple reasons and it's just getting started. 👏 Happy Hump Day! 23 hours ago
  • RT @pilasaci: Kendrick Lamar uses incredible cinematography from Jonas Lindstroem & team in his music video for 'ELEMENT.' https://t.co/Xk2… 23 hours ago

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 771 other followers

Blog Readers

Flag Counter
